Menu
Home Page

Year 5

9th October 2017

Image result for the legend of tom trueheart

The Legend of Tom Trueheart.

We are using The Legend of Tom Trueheart for the inspiration of our narrative writing.  

We planned a story in pairs, then shared our story ideas to create one big story. 

Our character, will go on a quest to save a cursed prince and he will have to defeat the evil wizard, Gallieth! 

 

 

 

Image result for science

We have carried out an investigation in science to find out which cup will keep the wizard's potion the hottest within a set amount of time.  We asked 'Which cup will be best at keeping the wizard's potion the hottest?'

 

We had a range of cups and had to take regular readings.  We found that the polystyrene cup was by far the best at keeping the potion insulated.

 

 

School Council Elections

On Thursday Year 5 elected their school council leaders for their class by having a democratic vote. Here we are posting our ballot papers!

 

 

ROCK KIDZ

 

Last week we were really lucky to have Rock Kidz join us at school and teach us some valuable lessons through the power of music and rock!

We had so much fun and we topped it off with an amazing two night concert.

Have a look at some of our class photos.

 

 

Image result for the uncommoners

Welcome, Wizards of Whitegate End

Welcome to Year 5.... This term our topic is 'Wizards of Whitegate End'.   In Year 5 your teachers are Mrs Travis and Miss Benbow.

 

We will be immersing ourselves in all things 'Wizardry'.  So get your hats and capes at the ready! 

Image result for wizard hat

In writing we will write setting descriptions from Harry Potter and write our own wizard stories. 

During whole class reading, we will read the book 'The Uncommoners, The Crooked Sixpence'.

Image result for the uncommoners

The Wizards Return...

 

Image result for reading word

Recommended Books

Here I will share books I think you will enjoy, books you should read and books that you won't be able to put down!

 

There are many fantastic stories available at the moment and you don't have to spend a fortune buying them.  You can ask your local library to order them for you, visit all good book websites and stores - they sometimes have offers or go to charity shops.  These shops often have books that people have donated; they are half the price and as good as new!

 

Here is the next recommendation for you, perhaps you can choose one of the three below and read it over the half term. If you do we can type your review about it alongside the book! 

 

So.... we have found out about Ivy and Seb being 'Uncommoners' and their mystery adventure in Lundinor.  Well, here is the next book to their adventures.  

 

The Smoking Hourglass by Jennifer Bell

 

Following Ivy Sparrow’s discoveries in The Crooked Sixpence, the adventures continue in the second instalment of The Uncommoners trilogy, The Smoking Hourglass.

As soon as Ivy and her brother Seb set foot back in the mysterious underground city of Lundinor, they know that something has changed . . . Where before there were cobbled streets, now the squares and lanes between the city’s enchanted shops are lush with spring blooms – but something dark is stirring just below the surface, and uncommon traders are uneasy. Ivy and Seb have stumbled into a plot that could condemn every uncommoner to a disastrous fate . . . With the help of Valian, their extraordinary friend – and some exceptional uncommon objects – can Ivy and Seb put a stop to the sinister Dirge’s plans?

 

Image result for the goldfish boy

 

This month's recommendation is 'The Goldfish Boy' by Lisa Thompson.

This book deals with the issue of a child with Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD) and how he must overcome this to solve a mystery, as he is the only witness.

 

Suitable for 9-12 year olds

 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qzSQRG1yDGw

 

A story about finding friendship when you're lonely - and hope when all you feel is fear. Twelve-year-old Matthew is trapped in his bedroom by crippling OCD, spending most of his time staring out of his window as the inhabitants of Chestnut Close go about their business. Until the day he is the last person to see his next door neighbour's toddler, Teddy, before he goes missing. Matthew must turn detective and unravel the mystery of Teddy's disappearance - with the help of a brilliant cast of supporting characters. Page-turning, heart breaking, but ultimately life-affirming, this story is perfect for fans of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time and Wonder. It is a book that will make you laugh and cry.

 

The first recommendation is by Peter Bunzl and is entitled 'Cogheart'

Image result for cogheart 

SOME SECRETS CHANGE THE WORLD IN A HEARTBEAT.

Lily’s life is in mortal peril. Her father is missing and now silver-eyed men stalk her through the shadows.

What could they want from her?

With her friends – Robert, the clockmaker’s son, and Malkin, her mechanical fox – Lily is plunged into a murky and menacing world. Too soon Lily realises that those she holds dear may be the very ones to break her heart…

Murder, mayhem and mystery meet in this gripping Victorian adventure.

Image result for reading quotesks2

Have you heard about the 100 Book Challenge?

Come down to Year 5 and find out about the 100 Books to read before you leave year 6? 

Give yourself a challenge -

How many can you read in a month? 

Image result for 100 book challenge

100 Book Reading Challenge. Print these off and keep a record of the ones you read.

Image result for spelling

If you loose your spelling sheet or need another I have uploaded the weekly sheets below.  

It is important that you learn these words and learn the meanings of them.  Try to use them in your everyday vocabulary and in your writing.

Pick a word you will use each day - Have a 'Word of the Day'. 

Once you have had your spelling test... don't forget about them - They are for life! 

If you need to practice previous words, you will find all the lists below.  

Keep going - you're doing brilliantly! 

 

Support for what pupils need to know about spelling:

Phonemic knowledge

The correspondence between letters/graphemes  and sounds/phonemes (GPCS).

• phonics – knowing about letter/sound correspondence.

• spelling patterns and conventions

• homophones – words which sound the same but are written differently.

• Phonological knowledge – understanding syllables and rhymes.

 

Morphological knowledge

The spelling of grammatical units within words.

• root words – are made up of one morpheme and cannot be split into smaller grammatical units.

• compound words – two root words which make another word when joined.

• suffixes -  added at the end of root words and change its meaning  and sometimes the spelling.

• prefixes - added at the beginning of a root word to change its meaning. Spelling usually unchanged.

 

Etymological knowledge

The understanding of the origin of words.

• etymology - word derivations. Knowing the different sources of English words.

 

Image result for homework

Image result for Newsletter

As part of our Home/School agreement each teacher will be available on a designated day after school.

I will be available every Monday from 3.00 pm to 3.30 pm.  


This will start on the 11th September and it is an opportunity for you to call in (if you need to) to discuss any issues and concerns.

However, if you need to have a longer meeting to discuss issues/concerns at length then we can arrange a time and a date that will be more suitable.

Monday - Optional Parent drop-ins 3.00 pm-3.30 pm
Tuesday - Swimming - First swimming lesson - 12th September
Wednesday - Homework to be handed in
Thursday - 
Friday - Spelling Test and new spellings handed out

PE Kit - Outdoor Kit (Please see school prospectus for guidance)

Homework Tasks to be given out

 

Reading at Home

 

 

 

 

It is important to read with your child every day, this will help your child become competent, fluent readers and also help them with their writing, spelling and in other areas of the curriculum.

 

If your child is still on scheme reading, they do need to complete it to show they are confident readers and show good understanding of texts. However, I do feel it is very important they read a whole variety of texts, such as; Information books, suitable Newspapers, Poetry, Novels and short stories. So may also bring to school a book of their choice to read for pleasure. 

 Also, to help support home/school agreements, it is also important that you write a short comment and initial you have read with your child in their Home/School Diary.  

As well as this, please help your child to ensure they are organised for their day ahead with correct school uniform, PE kit and homework.  

THANK YOU

Mrs. Travis

Image result for Curriculum header Clip Art

Top